Love.

For we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you…
1 Thessalonians 1:4

I’ve been reminded in many ways lately that God loves me.
And God loves you!

I’ve been longing to see the different churches in our town unite together. For after all, we share a common faith, in a common God, through a common Spirit, in a common world.
So there’s a youth service called B.E.A.T. (Beautiful Eternity After This) that one of the churches run, and I always encourage our youth group to go along… It’s completely different from one of our services, I love it!

One of the things that I was reminded of at the last B.E.A.T. was that God loves us. It was a refrain that was repeated throughout the night – a simple truth, but something that I don’t hear enough. It really is a beautiful thing to hear – especially as a group of young people – that there is a God (The God) who has a love for people. For all sorts of people: boys and girls, teenagers and adults, lonely or popular, confident or shy, fat or skinny, smart, pretty or otherwise. For those that have a good self esteem and for those that struggle with self worth. For those clued up, switched on and plugged in and for those who don’t seem to fit into any of societies boxes.

As God’s people we are loved.
We are chosen.

Why would God choose me? And how could he love me?

One of God’s infinite attributes is that he is the Creator. He made, from nothing, you. Like a new-born child to a first time parent. He loves us because he made us.

Remember that, God is love.

