Thinking.

I am the Way and the Truth and the Life. No-one comes to the Father except through me.
John 14:6

I sit here thinking about what to write the next post about. The Small Gate, a blog about persevering through life as a Christian. About sticking to the path laid ahead of us and not deviating to the right or to the left.

Then as I thought about this perseverance and endurance I couldn’t help but think about my brothers and sisters who are  also persevering and enduring.

I’m talking about my brother in North Korea who is arrested and then used as a guinea pig to test biological weapons on.
I’m talking about my sister in Iran who grew up in a Muslim family and now faces the death penalty for leaving Islam.
I’m talking about my brother in Saudi Arabia who is hiding because his Muslim cousins want to kill him.
I’m talking about my sister in Somalia who is being monitored by the government and has to practice her faith in secret.

And when I think about them I am inspired, grieved, convicted and moved to prayer.

Inspired, to know that the name of Jesus is being honoured in the darkest places on places and that my brothers and sisters are standing firm and that the word of the Lord is spreading.

Grieved, because I do not hold the name of Jesus in high regard, even though there is little direct pressure on me not to.

Convicted, to not let my luke-warm-ness remain; but instead to fan it into flame – no, even into a raging furnace that consumes all those who stand near it.

Moved to prayer, because the name of  Jesus that we pray in, is high above all and is near to me and near to my brothers and sisters and is very powerful and effective to bring about the Kingdom of God – in spite of the powers that stand against it.

And then I get to the end and I think, I know what to write about now…

