Love life.

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.
Romans 5:6

On Sunday just gone, the speaker spoke about the 6th commandment at  church – you shall not murder. Surely that’s not something that we struggle with is it? When was the last time you were tempted to murder someone?

But as the Bible goes on to teach us, murder goes much deeper than just taking a physical life from someone. There are many ways we can take someone’s life – be it our thoughts, attitudes or responses to others. Jesus teaches that merely calling someone a fool (what about just thinking it) puts you on the same path of judgment as murder does.

My heart can be so hard and arrogant sometimes. I admit that I struggle to think of myself as equal to everyone else. I find myself thinking that I’m better, or smarter, or holier, or more worthy or gifted… it’s a shame others aren’t like me… What horrible arrogance; what evil pride; what selfish delusion.

But then I’m brought back to one of my ‘favourite’ verses – Romans 5:6. Christ died for me – someone who is completely ungodly – and he did it at just the right time. What love, what grace, what mercy!

Remembering that helps keep my hardened heart in check. God loved something so unlovely as me.

If murder is to take life (to hate life), then the opposite surely must be to love life. God loved my life enough, that he gave up his own life for me. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.

When I find my head beginning to grow bigger than it ought, I’ve been reminded to look to Jesus – he loves all life, no matter what ability it has or how powerless it may be.

These are 2 beautiful words; surely they are at the centre of all that God is and does… love & life.

Love life.
Do you?

