Just as we are…

…just as we are…
Hebrews 4:15

We’ve recently been looking at the words from the cross in our morning church services lately. The 7 recorded phrases Jesus spoke as he hung dying on the cross.

“Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.
“Dear woman, here is your son… Here is your mother.
“Today, you will be with me in paradise.
“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
“I am thirsty.
“It is finished.
“Father, into your hands I commit my Spirit.

It shows us so much about the priorities and concerns that Jesus had even in the torturous and agonising final moments of his life.

He was concerned for those who were killing him, seeking rather to forgive them.

He loved his mother and wanted her to be cared for in his absence.

He reached out to the repentant thief hanging next to him, assuring him of his salvation.

And then in his final breaths, he looks up and feels the heavy weight of what was being accomplished in his death.

Exhausted, abandoned, suffocating, tired, thirsty, bleeding and dying. He drinks the cup of God’s wrath and is sacrificed in our place. A great swap. Him for me.

Wow.

As we count down to the greatest Christian festival – Easter – I’m reminded that Jesus has faced everything that we could possibly face in life, and some.

He went through it all, every agony, every trial, every temptation, every heart-ache and struggle. He’s been there and experienced it all.

As we remember the moment that bought our salvation, I’m glad I know a Saviour who is my greatest friend. He knows my hurts and battles, because he too has faced them and has overcome.

The whole verse quoted above and in the title says:

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathise with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way,
just as we are

– yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

Whatever you’re going through, there is a friend who knows it, and is able to help.
Let us approach him.

